Showing posts with label rate. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rate. Show all posts

Sunday, August 4, 2019

6 reasons to refinance when rates are rising

family on porch

Rising rates tend to discourage homeowners from refinancing, but there are good reasons to refinance even when rates are going up, and even if refinancing means paying a higher rate than you currently have.

“The direction of interest rates shouldn’t impact your decision. Instead, you should refinance when it makes sense to you and based on how long you expect to hold on to the mortgage and property,” says Brian Koss, executive vice president at Mortgage Network in Danvers, Massachusetts.

With that in mind, here are six scenarios for refinancing while rates are rising.

1. Lower your rate and payment

If you don’t already have a super-low rate, you might still be able to get a rate that’s lower than your current one.

“Rates in the 4 percent to 5 percent range are still very attractive,” says Chuck Price, vice president of lending at NEFCU, a federal credit union on New York’s Long Island.

You also should consider the costs. If your new mortgage had costs of, say, $5,000, and monthly interest savings of, say, $200, your payback period would be 25 months.

“If you planned to sell in 10 years, this would make sense, as opposed to if you planned to sell in two years,” Price says.

The risk is chasing a lower rate while extending your term, which could mean paying more due to the longer repayment period, says Kevin W. Hardin, a lending officer with Bank of America.

2. Lock in a fixed rate and payment

All mortgages come with an initial rate that’s either fixed or adjustable. A fixed rate never changes. An adjustable, or variable, rate can change over time. Adjustables, known as hybrids, have a rate that adjusts only after three, five, seven or 10 years.

Adjustable-rate mortgages, or ARMs, have monthly payments that can move up and down as interest rates fluctuate. Most have an initial fixed-rate period during which the borrower’s rate doesn’t change, followed by a longer period during which the rate changes at preset intervals.

An adjustable rate exposes you to the risk of a higher payment. The closer you are to an adjustment and the longer you plan to keep your home, the riskier the adjustable-rate mortgage is. If you refinance into a fixed rate, the risk goes away.

3. Stop paying mortgage insurance

Private mortgage insurance, or PMI, protects your lender if you don’t pay back your loan.

You’ll usually have to pay for PMI if you make a down payment that’s less than 20 percent of your home’s purchase price when you buy or your equity is less than 20 percent of your home’s current value when you refinance. (VA loans guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs don’t require PMI.)

Some loans allow you to stop paying for PMI once your equity reaches a certain percentage of your home’s value, either because you’ve paid down your loan or because your home’s value has increased. Other loans require PMI for the loan’s entire term unless you sell or refinance.

Refinancing from a loan with PMI to a loan without PMI might make sense even if your rate is higher because you won’t have to pay the monthly mortgage insurance premium, sometimes abbreviated as MIP.

4. Remove a borrower

Whoever is a named the borrower on a loan is responsible for making the payments. That’s true even if you and your spouse get divorced and your divorce decree assigns responsibility for a loan you and your wife got jointly to you or her solely.

Your lender has no obligation to remove you or your former spouse from your loan, regardless of your divorce agreement. If you’re the one who’s solely responsible, your agreement might require you to refinance to remove your former spouse, even if rates are rising.

If you have a home equity conversion mortgage, or HECM, often called a reverse mortgage, and your spouse was too young to qualify or you got married after you got your HECM, you might want to refinance to add your spouse.

Otherwise, your non-borrower spouse might not be allowed to remain in your home if you die or move out, or for health reasons.

5. Get cash to spend

Another potential reason to refinance your home is to extract cash from equity. The cash can be used for any purpose, such as remodeling or making repairs to your home, starting or expanding your own business, paying off other debt or paying medical, legal or education expenses.

Expensive needs and wants exist regardless of rates, which suggests homeowners might want to refinance to take cash out even if their rates are rising.

Whether cashing out makes sense depends on your perceptions of the benefits and risks.

“All good reasons to refinance can become bad if done at the wrong time,” Hardin says.

Another option might be to get a home equity loan or line of credit instead of a new first mortgage. The rate for your second loan might be higher, but the principal will be less and the term shorter.

6. Get cash to invest

Rising home values create opportunities to refinance and extract cash to invest in other assets.

This strategy could make sense if you can pay your new mortgage without counting on your investment gains, take advantage of the income tax benefits, afford to lose the money you invest, have excellent credit and plan to keep your home a long time, says Mike Windle, financial adviser at C. Curtis Financial, an investment advisory firm in Plymouth, Michigan.

That’s a lot of ifs, and there are multiple risks as well. Your investment returns might not exceed your interest expense. You might lose a significant chunk of your principal. Or your house could decline in value and you might not be able to sell it for enough to pay off your loan.

How Brexit will affect your finances

In less than a year from now – on March 29, 2019 to be precise – the UK is scheduled to leave the European Union.

Although much of the political debate has been over the rights of citizens to move within Europe and the pros and cons of the Single Market, Brexit will also have an affect on our everyday finances.

Here we look at how this might affect savings, business and credit cards in the UK.

Interest rates

On May 10, the Bank of England announced it was not changing interest rates, which would stay at 0.5%, amid fears that the UK economy was too fragile to cope with a rate rise.

This is good news for borrowers, including those people with credit card debt and mortgages, but bad news for savers. Consumer price inflation is currently at 2.5%, which means that the real purchasing value of savings is being eroded.

Fitch, the ratings agency, said the household savings ratio (relative to income) was now 4.9%, a historical low. It forecasts that the UK base interest rate will rise gradually to reach 1.25% by the end of 2019.

“The impact of the Brexit referendum on real wages may be fading, but Brexit uncertainty creates risks of a bigger shock to growth and employment,” it says in a Special Report “Weakening UK Household Finances Pose Risks” published on May 8.

Foreign exchange rates

The value of your holiday pound, and the exchange rate you get when you use your credit card to spend abroad, are affected by foreign exchange (forex) fluctuations.

As of May 2018, sterling is worth just over 1.13 euros, compared with May 2016, when it was worth 1.3 euros, and July 2015 when it reached a ten-year peak of 1.44. Since July 2016 it has traded within a range of 1.08 to 1.12 and has recovered from its low of 1.07 soon after the Brexit result.

GBP vs. EUR for the last five years

Xe.com

When you make overseas purchases using your credit card or debit card, your provider applies a foreign currency conversion rate. This rate will be affected by the variations in the value of the pound, and any volatility in exchange rates.

If the Brexit talks look as though the UK is failing to secure a good deal, sterling may fall again. The Bank of England may have to raise interest rates to protect the pound.

Angus Dent, CEO of ArchOver, a peer to peer lender, said: “With Britain’s GDP growth at just 0.1%, it’s no surprise that the Bank of England has kept interest rates at 0.5%. [The] decision is yet another result of the uncertainty surrounding the UK’s financial health. And keeping rates so low means savers lose out once again.”

Credit card rates and rewards

While interest rates remain low, credit card companies are unlikely to increase their own interest rates. However, the era of rewards and benefits for holding a card seems to be at an end, says Andrew Hagger, founder of MoneyComms, the money information service.

“The only decent rewards you get now is if you use a card to buy items within a certain store – for example using a Tesco card to shop instore. If you use the Tesco card, or ones from M&S, John Lewis and Sainsbury’s outside their own shops, the rewards are slim. I don’t see any major changes in the pipeline.”

Credit card fees

Until the Brexit deal is finalised, the government in the UK has to comply with EU directives. After Brexit, all existing European law will be incorporated into UK law.

This includes a ban on credit and debit card surcharges and applies to all purchases made within the European Economic Area (EEA). It means airlines can’t add hidden charges for online bookings. There are unlikely to be any changes in the short term, as Teresa May has heralded this move as a victory for consumers.

Savings compensation

If you have savings with a bank or financial institution that goes bust, you’ll be compensated by the UK’s Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS).

The compensation limit is £85,000, equivalent to the €100,000 deposit protection limit in the EU. Similar terms are likely to be included in UK law when the changeover happens. Read more about compensation limits on the FSCS website.

Interchange fees

The EU put in place a 0.3% cap on credit card interchange fees that was aimed at reducing the cost of card payments. The UK Cards Association estimated that almost £900 million in savings should be passed onto consumers.

Interchange is a fee paid by the retailer’s card acceptance provider to the consumer’s card issuer each time a card payment transaction occurs.

The cap on fees applies on most product types within the European Economic Area (EEA).

This will become law in the UK after Brexit, and is unlikely to change, says Andrew Hagger, of MoneyComms.

“All the EU laws will be incorporated into English law and then the government will look at which ones need to be changed. Interchange fees aren’t going to be a priority as there are many other issues they will need to look at, so I anticipate things staying much as they are for several years at least.”

Business and the economy

There are still some concerns about the health of the economy, which is why the Bank of England decided not to increase interest rates this time.

Brian Johnson, Insolvency Partner with the accountant HW Fisher, said that the economy had been affected by concerns over Brexit, and would continue to do so while the uncertainty remained.

“Immediately after the Referendum there was doom and gloom, and then the stockmarket recovered and the pound came down which made exports cheaper and interest rates stayed low,” he said. “That was a false dawn, with people saying that Brexit was not a problem.”

Behind the scenes, businesses were delaying decisions on investment and recruitment until the negotiations were concluded, he said, and there would be more insolvencies among businesses. This was not necessarily a bad thing, as poorly-run companies would be taken over by more efficient managers.

Now read: How to find the best current account

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Last updated: 28 January, 2019

When should I remortgage?

Remortgaging is when you get a new mortgage on your current home. It’s a very important decision that could impact your finances by thousands of pounds every year.

Why should I remortgage?

Before you look at the when, you need to first consider the why. Why should you remortgage if you can afford the monthly repayments, are happy with your lender and are not planning to move house?

We go into this in detail in our Should I remortgage? guide, but in brief:

  1. Your current deal is about to end/has already ended (which most likely means you’ll be on your lender’s costly standard variable rate, known as SVR)
  2. You want to save money
  3. You want to release some of the equity in your home to make changes to it, like renovations or an extension
  4. You want to pay off your mortgage earlier
  5. The value of your property has gone up significantly
  6. You want to switch from an interest-only to a repayment mortgage
  7. Economic uncertainty

When should I remortgage?

In general, you should start looking for a new mortgage around three months before the end of your current mortgage’s promotional deal. For example, if you have a three-year fixed rate mortgage, you should start shopping around when you’re 33 months into the 36-month promotional period.

When a lender offers you a mortgage, you usually have between three and six months to accept it – after that, you’ll have to reapply. That’s why you should start looking for a new mortgage when your current mortgage deal has around three months to go.

If you don’t find a new deal, you’ll automatically revert onto your lender’s SVR when your promotional period ends, which is often far more expensive than if you’d shopped around for a new fixed rate or discount rate mortgage. In fact, mortgage broker London & Country recently discovered that a third of mortgage customers are on their lender’s SVR.

According to financial data site Moneyfacts, the average two-year fixed rate mortgage in the UK is around 2.52% compared to the average SVR which is 4.9%. Using these figures as examples, if you had a £300,000 repayment mortgage over a 25 year term, your monthly payments would go from £1,349 to £1,736 – that’s an increase of almost £400 each month, or £4,800 per year.

Of course, with Brexit looming the economy is currently somewhat unpredictable, so it could be beneficial to see what mortgage deals are out there even if yours isn’t coming to an end. But don’t forget to look at all the costs because early repayment charges (to leave your mortgage before it ends) and set-up or arrangement fees (payable when you’re setting up a new mortgage) could cancel out the financial benefit of getting a new, low fixed-rate offer.

This need for security is made clear by the fact there has recently been an increase in popularity for longer-term fixes, like five and 10 years as opposed to just two or three. Plus, the similarity between the two-year (2.52%) and five-year (2.93%) rates shows how lenders are reacting to this shift from borrowers and how hard they are trying to remain competitive.

Mortgage analytics specialist at Moneyfacts, Darren Cook, says: “We have seen the margin between the average two-year fixed and five-year fixed rates narrow as competition gathers pace in the five-year fixed rate landscape. Historically, competition on rates has been strong in the two-year fixed rate market and it seems that rates in this sector have been cut to a bare minimum and the five-year fixed rate sector is the next option for mortgage providers to compete in, causing rates to fall.”

Fixing your mortgage for longer not only means you have prolonged certainty when it comes to your payments, but it also means you will not need to think about changing your mortgage for longer periods of time. However, if you’re unsure whether or not you’ll remain in your current property for the length of the new mortgage deal, make sure it has the added bonus of being portable, which means you can take it from one property to another without (or with minimal) fees.

How to get the best remortgage deals

When it comes to remortgaging, your loan to value (LTV) is primarily based on the amount of equity in your home – plus, if you have some savings put aside, you can put those into the new mortgage deal as well.

Much in the same way that a larger deposit gives you access to better mortgage rates on your first home, more equity equates to lower interest rates. If you have a repayment mortgage, and the value of your home has stayed the same or gone up, you should have a decent chunk of equity in your home.

For example: you originally bought a £200,000 property with a £20,000 deposit – i.e. you borrowed £180,000 at an LTV of 90%. Since then, your property has increased in value to £250,000. You’ve also paid off £10,000 of your mortgage debt through your monthly repayments, so you only owe the lender £170,000. This means your total equity in your home is now £80,000: £20,000 from the deposit, plus £10,000 in debt repayments, and a final £50,000 from the increase in property value.

With £80,000 in equity on a £250,000 home, and only £170,000 left to repay, you’re in a very strong position for remortgaging. You will have an LTV of 68%, which will give you access to some of the best mortgage rates. If you contributed another £7,500 – from a savings account, perhaps – then your LTV would move down to 65%, where you likely get an even better mortgage rate!

Why can’t I remortgage?

If the value of your property has dipped below your outstanding mortgage debt, you’ll have what’s known as negative equity. For instance: In 2017, you bought a house for £300,000 with a £270,000 mortgage on a two-year fixed-rate deal. The deal is coming to an end, but the property has decreased in value to £250,000.

Most lenders will not allow you change mortgages while you’re in negative equity, so you could end up paying its costly SVR until the property goes up in value.

One way to partially remedy this in the interim is to overpay your mortgage, that is, make payments over the monthly requirements. Generally speaking, this should be doable if you’re already on the lender’s SVR (higher rates usually mean greater flexibility) – but if you’re in negative equity whilst on a fixed-rate deal, you must check the terms and conditions before you overpay. Although most fixed-rate deals allow you to overpay by 10% per year, they’ll charge you a penalty for anything over that.

Try to remortgage to a cheaper deal as soon as you’re out of negative equity.

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Last updated: 28 April, 2019

Post-Fed rate cut: Here’s how credit cards are affected

The Federal Reserve has announced its plan to cut rates, meaning cardholders across the country might experience slightly lower interest rates from their credit card issuers.

At the July 2019 Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) meeting, the Fed voted to cut interest rates by 25 basis points — a relatively small decrease — with the intention of slightly boosting the economy in case of economic downturn.

Fed Chairman Jerome Powell has been hinting at a rate cut for the past few months. With risks to the economic outlook arising, the Fed hopes the cut will preemptively reinvigorate the economy.

The meeting in summary

“[The cut] is intended to ensure against downside risks from weak global growth and trade policy uncertainty; to help offset the effects these factors are currently having on the economy; and to promote a faster return of inflation to our symmetric 2 percent objective,” Powell said at the July 31 meeting.

The chairman also clarified his previous statements, confirming that the boost would not mean a series of further cuts.

“We’re thinking of it essentially as a mid-cycle adjustment to policy,” said Powell. “I’m contrasting it there with the beginning…of a lengthy cutting cycle. That’s not what we’re seeing now. That’s not our perspective now, or outlook.”

What this means for credit cards

The federal funds rate, determined by the Federal Reserve, typically affects the prime rate — or the interest rate banks charge customers with the highest credit ratings. This chain reaction, in turn, continues as the primate rate affects credit card interest rates.

As long as you’re paying your balance in full every month, you likely won’t see an impact from the increase or decrease of rates. But if you have credit card debt or are planning a large purchase in the coming weeks, the lowering of rates can make paying off debt a tad cheaper.

“While credit cards are affected directly by the prime rate, most consumers will feel a minimal impact with this cut,” says Mike Kinane, head of U.S. Bankcards at TD Bank. “We’ve had nine consecutive rate increases since 2008, so one .25 percent decrease won’t result in a dramatic change to a customer’s monthly credit card bill.”

Pay off debt now, not later

With the Fed rate cut, now is the time to pay off your credit card debt. Consider balance transfer card options that can help you consolidate and pay off your debt within an introductory zero percent APR window.

For example, the no annual fee Capital One® SavorOne℠ Cash Rewards Credit Card offers an introductory zero percent APR for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers (16.24% – 26.24% variable APR thereafter). You can transfer your debt to the SavorOne — for a 3 percent balance transfer fee — and pay it off over the course of 15 months while not owing anything in interest.

After your debt is paid off, you’ll still find value in the card’s unlimited 3 percent cash back on dining and entertainment, 2 percent at grocery stores and 1 percent on all other purchases.

The bottom line

The Fed’s rate cut may only marginally impact your cards’ interest rates, but it’s still a good idea to jumpstart your debt payoff as soon as possible.

Learn more about how to start budgeting, paying off your debts and choosing the right cards for your lifestyle here.

7 ways to improve your credit score

The journey to improving your credit score is a marathon, not a sprint.

An excellent score can help you qualify for low-interest loans and premium rewards credit cards, but the process takes time.

You can get started by checking your credit score to see where you currently stand.

Once you have an idea of how much room you have to grow, use these tips to begin building better credit.

7 steps to raise your credit score

  1. Stay on top of payments.
  2. Keep tabs on your credit utilization rate.
  3. Leave old debts on your report.
  4. Take advantage of score-boosting programs.
  5. Time your applications carefully.
  6. Be patient.
  7. Monitor your credit.

1. Stay on top of payments

Keep your debts in the green to show lenders you’re responsible with credit.

According to Experian, payment history is the most influential factor for both FICO and VantageScore, the most common scoring systems.

Your credit score is essentially a reflection of your ability to pay back debts effectively. From a lender’s perspective, an established history of timely payments is a good indicator you’ll handle future debts responsibly, too.

“You want to avoid things like late payments, defaults, repossessions, foreclosures and third party collections,” says John Ulzheimer, credit expert, formerly of FICO and Equifax. “And filing bankruptcy is a horrible idea. Anything that would indicate non-performance of a liability is going to harm your credit score.”

2. Keep tabs on your credit utilization rate

Weigh your balances relative to your credit limit to ensure you’re not using too much available credit, a practice which can indicate risk.

“The higher that ratio, the fewer points you’re going to earn in that category and your scores are absolutely going to suffer,” Ulzheimer says.

Credit utilization is one of the most influential categories that influence your score. Your ideal rate may vary depending on the scoring system used.

“In FICO’s systems, less than 10 percent is the optimal target,” Ulzheimer says. “In fact, people who have the highest average FICO scores have a utilization of 7 percent.” VantageScore, on the other hand, looks for a target utilization of 30 percent or below.

“I always default to 10 percent because that’s going to keep you in the good zone for both of the scoring platforms,” Ulzheimer says.

The date your revolving credit issuer reports your information to the credit bureaus may also impact your utilization rate.

According to Ulzheimer, FICO’s scoring systems don’t differentiate between those who pay in full each month and those who carry a balance; the utilization that appears when your issuer reports your account information is the rate scored. VantageScore, though, does consider whether you pay in full or carry your balance month to month.

If you struggle with high balances and mounting interest payments on your cards, consider consolidating with a zero percent introductory rate balance transfer credit card.

3. Leave old debts on your report

Once you finally get rid of student debt or pay off your auto loan, you may be impatient to get any trace of it wiped from your report.

But as long as your payments were timely and complete, those debt records may actually help your credit score. The same is true for you credit card accounts.

“An account that’s paid in full is a good thing; however, closing an account isn’t something that consumers should automatically do in the hopes that it will positively impact their credit score,” says Nancy Bistritz-Balkan, vice president of communications and consumer education at Equifax. “Having an account with a long history and solid track record of paying bills on time, every time, are the types of responsible habits lenders and creditors look for.”

Any bad debts that can impact your score negatively are automatically removed over time.

“Bankruptcies can stay on your report no longer than 10 years,” Ulzheimer says. “Late payments and similar delinquencies like collections, repossessions, foreclosures and settlements, those are capped at seven years.”

4. Take advantage of score-boosting programs

The number and average age of your accounts are both important factors in helping lenders determine how well you handle debt, which can leave those with a limited credit history at a disadvantage.

Experian Boost and UltraFICO are two programs that allow consumers to boost a thin credit profile with other financial information.

After opting into Experian Boost, you can connect your online banking data and allow the credit bureau add telecommunications and utility payment history to your report. UltraFICO allows you to give permission for your banking data, like checking and savings accounts, to be considered alongside your report when calculating your score.

5. Time your applications carefully

Every time you apply for a new line of credit, a hard inquiry is pulled on your report. This type of inquiry lowers your score temporarily.

“In general, the effects of a hard inquiry last anywhere from 6 to 12 months,” a TransUnion representative tells Bankrate. “And that inquiry is only on your credit report for up to 24 months.”

Research your likelihood of approval to ensure you’re a good candidate before applying for a new credit card. You don’t want to risk lowering your score for a denied application.

You should also refrain from applying for several credit cards within a short time frame or before taking out a large loan like a mortgage.

When you shop for a mortgage, auto or personal loan, you can keep hard inquiries to a minimum by making rate comparisons within a short time period.

Applications for the same type of loan within a designated time frame will only appear as a single hard inquiry. According to FICO, this span can vary from 14 to 45 days.

6. Be patient

You won’t raise your credit score overnight, which is why one of the best ways to achieve an excellent score is to develop good long-term credit habits.

According to Ulzheimer, two influential factors that go into your score are the average age of information and the oldest account on your report.

“You’re really going to need to have credit for a couple of decades before you max out those categories,” Ulzheimer says. “It takes a really, really long time to improve a bad score and it takes a really short amount of time to trash a good score.”

Establish good habits, like paying your balances on time, keeping a low utilization rate and applying for credit only when you need it, and you should see those practices reflected in your score over time.

7. Monitor your credit

When you view your own credit, a soft inquiry is pulled, which doesn’t affect your credit temporarily the way hard inquiries do.

“The information in the credit reports will not only enable you to see all of your financial accounts in one place, but reviewing them may also help you spot signs of identity theft,” Bisritz-Balkan says.

Monitoring your score’s fluctuations every few months can help you understand how well you’re managing your credit and whether you should make any changes.

According to Ulzheimer, “As long as you pay your bills on time and as long as you keep your credit card balances modest and as long as you only apply for credit when you need it, then you really have no choice but to have a good score.”

Home Equity Line of Credit Payoff Calculator

Refinancing your HELOC into a Home Equity Loan

HELOC payments tend to get more expensive over time. There are two reasons for this: adjustable rates and entering the repayment phase of the loan.

HELOCs are variable rate loans, which means your interest rate will adjust periodically. In a rising-rate environment, this could mean larger monthly payments.

Additionally, once the draw period ends borrowers are responsible for both the principal and interest. This steep rise in the monthly HELOC payment can be a shock to borrowers who were making interest-only payments for the first 10 or 15 years. Sometimes the new HELOC payment can double or even triple what the borrower was paying for the last decade.

To save money, borrowers can refinance their HELOC. Here we’ll take a look at two options and how they work.

Home equity loan

You can take out a home equity loan, which has a fixed rate, and use this new loan to pay off the HELOC. The advantage of doing this is that you could dodge those rate adjustments. The disadvantage is that you would be responsible for paying closing costs.

New HELOC

Apply for a new HELOC to replace the old one. This allows you to avoid that principal and interest payment while keeping your line of credit open. If you have improved your credit since you got the first HELOC, you might even qualify for a lower interest rate.

If you’re interested in refinancing with a HELOC or home equity loan, use Bankrate’s home equity loan rates table to see current rates.

Home equity loans vs. HELOCs

Home equity loans and home equity lines of credit, or HELOCs, are two types of loans that use the value of your house as collateral. They’re both considered second mortgages.

The main difference between them is that with home equity loans you get one lump sum of money whereas HELOCs are lines of credit which you can draw from as needed.

Paying off a home equity loan

The faster pay off your loan, the less interest you’ll pay. You might even be able to reduce your interest rate by refinancing your loan to a shorter term. Often, lenders will reward shorter terms with lower interest rates, so it’s worth investigating if you want to pay off your loan faster.

Before you get the loan, find out if there’s a penalty for paying it off early. If there is a penalty, factor that amount into your calculations.

You should also note any balloon payments that are included in your contract. These are large lump sums owed at the end of your home equity loan term. Some loans are not amortized, which means you could end up making interest-only monthly payments only to have the full principal balance due on a specific date.

This could mean trouble for homeowners who haven’t prepared. If your loan has a balloon payment, set aside enough money each month to make that payment when it comes due.

Paying off a HELOC

HELOCs are different from home equity loans in that they function more like a credit card. Your lender will extend credit, based on several factors including your credit history and the equity in your house. You only owe what you borrow. For example, if you’re extended $50,000 and use just $25,000, then you only owe $25,000.

Many HELOCs allow borrowers to make interest only payments during the draw period, which can vary. Normally, draw periods last between 10 and 15 years. When that period ends, you must make principal and interest payments.

HELOCs can become a drain on your finances if you put off making payments on the principal. If possible, make extra monthly payments on your principal. Like home equity loans, find out if there are prepayment penalties.

Auto Loan Refinancing - When to Refinance Your Car Loan

Two women in the car

When you’ve gone through the effort of getting a car loan, it can be tempting to simply pay it off and never look back. Before you engage the cruise control, though, consider the potential benefits of a refinancing an auto loan.

People typically refinance an auto loan because they’ve found a better interest rate, which would result in them saving money. But there are other situations when refinancing would make sense. The key is keeping an eye out for any of the five following situations and being prepared to act.

  • Situation 1: You see interest rates dropping. Interest rates on all sorts of consumer loans periodically rise or fall, influenced largely by the monetary policies of the Federal Reserve. The Fed has raised interest rates three times in 2018, but history shows that reductions will eventually come around. When they do, be ready to look for your opening.
  • Situation 2: You want to improve on a “dealer-sourced” loan. If you financed your car through the dealership, you likely got a higher interest rate than you could have thanks to something called a dealer markup. A dealer’s preferred lenders commonly charge higher rates, and part of difference goes back to the dealership. Compare your current loan with offers from other sources (your bank or credit union, an online lender, etc.) to see if you can get a lower interest rate with a refinance car loan.
  • Situation 3: Your credit score has improved. All those months of diligently paying off your current loan can have a positive effect on your overall creditworthiness. Lenders typically see a good credit score as a sign of a less risky borrower, which in turn can lead to offering better interest rates. If your credit score has improved since you took out the loan, you might be able to save money on interest through a refinance. You can check your credit for free on Bankrate.
  • Situation 4: You want to buy the car you’re currently leasing. Car leases typically include an option to buy at the end of the lease. You can get a refinance loan to buy the car outright when your lease expires, although this approach has its pros and cons. If you want to save money on a lease-to-purchase, you’ll need to make sure that the total cost of buying the car, including interest on your refinance auto loan, would be lower than extending the lease or leasing a different car.
  • Situation 5. You need lower monthly payments. Sometimes refinancing a car loan is a life preserver, not a windfall. If you run into financial trouble and want to reduce your car payment, you could refinance a loan with a longer term (from 36 months to 48 months, for instance). Although you would pay less per month, expect to pay more total over the life of the longer loan.

How to track refinance interest rates

Most refinance opportunities involve taking advantage of a better interest rate. If you find an interest rate substantially lower than what you’re paying on your original loan, it could be time to get a new deal with a refinance car loan.

One easy way to keep an eye on interest rates is by checking the Bankrate auto loan lender marketplace, which includes current offers on refinance car loans.

Also, Bankrate’s Auto Refinance Calculator lets you compare your current loan with a new offer side-by-side. Just enter a few pieces of information, including your current monthly payment and the balance you owe, to see how much you could save by refinancing.

When is refinancing a bad idea?

In some cases, refinancing may not make good financial sense for either you or the potential lender. Those situations include:

  • When you’re well into paying off your current loan. Through the amortization process, your interest charges gradually decrease over the life of the loan. As a result, a refinance has more potential to save money when you’re in the earlier stages of repaying the original loan.
  • When you’re trying to refinance an older or high-mileage car. Most lenders won’t find it worthwhile to issue a loan on a car that has significantly depreciated in value.
  • If you’re “upside-down” on the original loan. Lenders typically avoid refinancing if the borrower owes more than the car’s value (also known as being underwater).

Let smart shopping drive the decision to refinance

If you’re wondering how to refinance a car, the process isn’t that different from buying the car itself. You’ll want to shop around for a good deal and take a couple of test-drives (in this case, with the Auto Refinance Calculator).

If everything falls into place, you could be looking at a more financially comfortable ride.

Which Type Of CD Is Best For You?

Couple looking online for best CD rate

The traditional certificate of deposit account remains the most popular type of CD. However, it’s far from the only option. Financial institutions offer a variety of non-traditional CD products. These specialized CDs can: give savers more flexibility to benefit from rising rates, provide early access to their funds or offer better-than-average rates of return. If you’re willing to sacrifice some yield or tolerate some additional risk, you might find a CD better suited to meet your financial needs.

But first, what is a CD account?

A certificate of deposit is a time deposit account. A bank agrees to pay interest at a certain rate if savers deposit their cash for a set term, or period of time.

11 types of CD accounts

1. Traditional CD

With a traditional CD, you deposit a fixed amount of money for a specific term and receive a fixed interest rate. You have the option of cashing out at the end of the term or rolling over the CD for another term. Most institutions don’t allow you to add additional funds before your traditional CD matures.

Penalties for early withdrawal can be quite stiff and will cause you to lose interest, and possibly principal. Federal regulation — Regulation D, specifically — sets only the minimum early withdrawal penalty for traditional CDs. There is no law preventing an institution from enacting tougher penalties, but the institution must disclose those fees when the account is opened.

Before you pick a CD, it’s important to calculate how much interest you could earn by the end of your term.

2. Bump-up CD

A bump-up CD helps you benefit from a rising-rate environment. Suppose you buy a two-year CD at a given rate, and six months into the term the bank offers an additional quarter-point on the same investment.

A bump-up CD gives you the option of telling the bank you want to get the higher rate for the remainder of the term. Institutions that offer this CD option usually allow only one bump-up per term.

The drawback is you may get a lower initial rate on a bump-up CD than on a traditional CD. The longer it takes interest rates to rise, the longer it will take to make up for the earlier, lower-rate portion of the term.

Be sure you have realistic expectations about the interest-rate environment before buying a bump-up CD. See how bump-up CD deals stack up against traditional CD rates.

3. Step-up CDs

In a rising-rate environment, you might also want to consider a financial institution that offers a step-up CD.

It’s not uncommon to see a step-up CD and a bump-up CD lumped together. Both of them will help you move up into a higher yield. However, they are different products. Rather than requiring you to ask the bank for a higher rate as bump-up CDs do, step-up CDs will automatically increase their rates throughout their terms at certain intervals.

They are not too common, however. Moreover, there is a big caveat: There is no guarantee that you would end up better off than you would have if you had parked your money in a traditional CD. The blended APY could be less than you would make with a traditional CD. As such, you’ll want to evaluate the starting APY as well as how much the rate is increasing before making a decision.

4. Liquid CD

Liquid CDs, or no-penalty CDs, offer investors the opportunity to withdraw their money without incurring a penalty. However, these types of CDs may come with strict withdrawal limits and large minimum investment requirements.

You can generally expect the interest rate on a liquid CD to be higher than that of a savings or money market deposit. But it’s usually lower than the rate on a traditional CD of the same term. You’ll have to weigh the convenience of liquidity against whatever return you’re sacrificing.

A key consideration when purchasing a liquid CD is how soon you can make a withdrawal after opening the account. Most banks require that the money stay in the account for at least seven days before it can be withdrawn without penalty, but banks can set the first penalty-free withdrawal for any time period. It’s important to read the fine print before picking up a liquid CD.

5. Zero-coupon CD

These CDs are similar to zero-coupon bonds. As with the bond, you buy the CD at a deep discount to its par value (or the amount you’ll receive when the CD matures).

“Coupon” refers to a periodic interest payment. “Zero-coupon” means there are no interest payments.

So, you might buy a 12-year, $100,000 CD for $50,000, and you wouldn’t receive any interest payments over the course of the term. You’d receive the $100,000 face value when the CD matures.

One drawback is that zero-coupon CDs are usually long-term investments, and you take on considerable interest-rate risk. If interest rates rise during the 10-year term in question, you’ll be on the losing end of that deal.

Another potential problem is that you’re credited with phantom income each year. No money is being put in your pocket, but you’ll have to pay Uncle Sam on the earnings being accrued.

In our example, you’d earn $3,000 during the first year and would owe tax on the money, though you haven’t actually received it. Each year, you’ll have a higher base than the year before — and a bigger tax bill. Make sure you have room in your budget to cover the taxes.

6. Callable CD

With a callable CD, you could get a higher yield than with traditional CDs but with a risk: the bank that issues the CD can “call” it away from you after your call-protection period expires, and before the CD matures. For instance, if you buy a five-year CD with a six-month call-protection period, the institution could call it back after the first six months.

Just as with the zero-coupon CD, the bank is shifting interest-rate risk on to your shoulders. If it issues a five-year CD at 3 percent and six months later rates drop by a full percent, the bank will drop its rate as well. It’ll now be paying 2 percent on the five-year CD you originally got at 3 percent.

The bank can call, or take back, your CD and reissue it at the lower 2 percent. You’ll receive your full principal and interest earned. But you’re stuck reinvesting your money at lower rates.

Usually, banks pay a premium for you taking on the risk that the CD may be called. They may pay investors a quarter- or half-percent more on a callable CD than they would on a CD without the call feature.

7. Brokered CD

A brokered CD is simply a certificate of deposit sold through a brokerage firm. To qualify for one, you’ll need a brokerage account. Some banks use brokers as sales representatives to find investors willing to purchase the banks’ CDs.

Buying CDs through a brokerage can be convenient. There’s no need to open accounts at a variety of banks just to get the best CD yields. Brokered CDs may pay higher rates than CDs from your local bank because banks using brokered CDs compete in a national marketplace. But that’s not always the case.

Brokered CDs are more liquid than bank CDs because they can be traded like bonds on the secondary market. But there is no guarantee you won’t take a loss. The only way to guarantee getting your full principal and interest is to hold the CD until maturity.

Don’t assume all brokered CDs are backed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. It’s up to you to do your due diligence and look for that FDIC seal on the broker’s website. You should also watch out for brokered CDs that have call options. And before you invest, check on fees and early withdrawal policies.

8. High-yield CD

Banks compete for deposits by offering better-than-average rates. High-yield CD accounts may offer two or three times the national average on a given term. These are generally traditional CD accounts that pay very generous returns. Bankrate offers the best route for finding the highest rates in the nation.

Bankrate surveys local and national institutions to find banks offering the highest yields on CDs. All accounts are directly offered to the consumer by the institution.

Take time to compare the best CD rates. Then calculate your potential earnings.

9. Jumbo CD

Just as its name implies, a jumbo CD requires a larger deposit than a traditional CD. To get one, you would typically need to make a minimum deposit of $100,000. In some instances, that deposit threshold will be somewhat lower.

While jumbo CDs could pay more than a traditional CD, they might not. A five-year jumbo CD on average pays 1.55 percent APY, while a 5-year CD rate pays 1.49 percent as of late January, according to Bankrate’s national survey of banks and thrifts.

In putting tens of thousands of dollars into a jumbo CD, there’s a risk of whether the account will keep up with the inflation rate. Also don’t forget to consider your tax bite: The interest you earn will be taxed as ordinary income.

10. IRA CD

Individual retirement accounts hold investments. IRA CDs are IRAs where you invest in CDs.

IRA CDs may appeal to the risk-averse who are preparing to pad their retirement savings with guaranteed returns – you’ll know how much you’ll make over the product’s term so long as you keep the CD until its maturity. You will also have protection of up to $250,000 from the government if you purchase IRA CDs from an FDIC-insured institution. Translation: If the bank goes bust, your money won’t.

The trade-off is that you won’t make high returns on these investments. While they can help you diversify your portfolio, IRA CDs are not generally viewed as smart retirement strategies for younger investors, who can take on more risk.

Just like with the other CD types, make sure you shop around for the best yields. To effectively use an IRA CD, fund one with money you won’t need until age 59 1/2, so you don’t have to pay a tax on early distributions.

11. Add-on CD

Most CDs let you make only an initial deposit. But add-on CDs let you make multiple deposits into the account during the CD’s term. However, how many deposits you can make into an add-on CDs varies. So, make sure you read the fine print.

These accounts are worth considering if you are saving for a goal.

Make sure you look around to find the best rates. And reminder, try not to lock up your money for too long at times when interest rates are expected to increase.

What is a money market account?

Stock chart in paper

You are looking for a low-risk way to earn a competitive rate. Then, you stumble upon something promising: a money market account that pays a high yield. You have just one question: what in the world is a money market account?

A money market account is a financial tool for storing your savings safely, and it is quite similar to a traditional savings account. A money market account is great for when you want a low-risk way to earn a competitive rate on your cash.

Generally, a money market account pays a higher interest rate than a savings account; however, the account tends to include more restrictions, such as requiring a higher minimum balance. It wouldn’t be surprising for the financial institution to require $5,000 or more to open a money market account, for example.

You will, however, often have the ability to write checks from the account and/or a debit card to access your money. But a money market account is not a checking account, and there are limits on your ability to use these tools to move money in and out of the account. A money market account will allow up to six withdrawals or transfers a month because of a federal mandate.

Brick-and-mortar banks, online banks and credit unions offer the deposit account.

Are money market accounts FDIC-insured?

Your money is safe in a money market account if it’s offered by a bank or credit union.

At banks, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. insures up to $250,000. At credit unions, the National Credit Union Association insures up to $250,000.

Should the bank or credit union fail, the FDIC or NCUA guarantees your money will remain safe.

For money market accounts, banks and credit unions can use your deposits for low-risk investments, like certificates of deposit. But again, your money is still safe in these accounts.

How do I choose the best money market account?

First and foremost, shop around.

As you do your research, one of the most important factors to consider is the product’s annual percentage yield. The annual percentage yield, or APY, alerts you to how much you will earn with compound interest over the year. In other words, it’s the interest earned on your first deposit as well as the interest earned on top of other interest earnings — the higher the number is, the more your money will grow.

Next, look out for account restrictions. You’ll want to check to see whether or not the account requirements are too onerous to earn the yield or to sidestep a fee. It’s not uncommon to see hefty balance requirements. For example, BMO Harris Bank currently requires a $5,000 minimum opening deposit to earn 2.45 percent APY on its money market account.

Also, make sure you look for fees, including whether the account charges you a penalty if you close it within three months of opening it. Look out for monthly fees, transfer fees, shipping fees, inactive account fees and other penalties.

You can use Bankrate to compare money market accounts.

Should I open a money market account?

If you’re looking to earn a higher rate without taking on risk for your shorter-term goals, you should consider opening a money market account. For example, you may want to open a money market account if:

  • You want relatively easy access to your savings.
  • Need a place to park your emergency savings or another shorter-term financial goal.
  • Want the ability to write a limited amount of checks.
  • Desire a predictable APY and a federally insured account.

Can you lose money in a money market account?

A money market account is a safe place to park your money, so long as you aren’t depositing more than $250,000 — the amount FDIC-insured banks and NCUA-insured credit unions insure against losses — in a single account.

Importantly, a money market account is separate from a money market fund. The money market account is FDIC-insured; the money market fund is not.

What is a money market account good for?

If you want to park your savings somewhere but still have relatively easy access to it, a money market account is a good option to consider.

A money market account is a solid option to keep funds for your shorter-term savings goals, like a wedding or home repair. It’s also a good place to keep your emergency fund.

Are you taxed on money market accounts?

You must report all taxable and tax-exempt interest on your federal income tax return, even if it’s just a couple of dollars.

If you earn $10 on interest on an account, your bank will send you a 1099-INT for interest earned during that year. Even if you earn less than $10, you still need to report it on your tax return to the IRS. You will want to report the interest the year that you earn it.

Contact your accountant to answer your specific tax questions.

What is the difference between a money market account and a savings account?

Savings accounts and money market accounts have more in common than not: They pay interest, and they are designed to keep you saving. But there are a few distinctions that should help you choose the product that suits your needs best, including:

  • Generally, you will have to park more money in a money market account than you will in a savings account.
  • The money market account, on average, pays twice the savings account APY, according to Bankrate data (0.25 percent APY vs. 0.1 percent APY).
  • With a money market account, you can get checks — don’t expect this tool in your savings account.

If you are deciding between a money market account and a certificate of deposit, evaluate your goals. A CD could pay you a more competitive rate than a money market account, but your money is more liquid in a money market account than a CD.

Remember, there are always exceptions. Some savings accounts pay higher yields than money market accounts, and not all money market accounts offer ATM access or check-writing privileges. Bottom line: Do your research and shop around to find the account that works best for you.

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